The world’s biggest country

Current Affairs

Russia, renowned for its grandeur and vastness, holds the title of being the largest country on Earth. With a total expanse spanning 17,098,242 square kilometers and a staggering land area of 16,376,870 square kilometers, it encompasses approximately 11% of the world’s total landmass, which amounts to 148,940,000 square kilometers. Surpassing the combined land areas of the following 13 nations, Russia’s sheer size sets it apart. Distinguished by its extremes, Russia embraces a mesmerizing variety of landscapes and climates. It embraces the frozen Arctic tundra in the north and the verdant forests of Siberia in the south, resulting in a land characterized by striking beauty and unparalleled diversity.

Catalog of the Ten Most Expansive Nations on Earth

1. Russia

Russia, sprawling across an expansive 17,098,242 square kilometers, boasts Moscow as its capital and largest city. The official language is Russian, and the government follows a Federal Semi-presidential republic system, with Vladimir Putin as the President and Mikhail Mishustin as the Prime Minister. With a population of nearly 145 million, Russia ranks as the largest country on Earth.

2. Canada

Canada, spanning 9,948,670 square kilometers, is a North American nation with Ottawa as its capital. Toronto, Ontario, takes the honor of being the largest city. The country has two official languages, English and French, and operates under a Federal Parliamentary, Constitutional Monarchy government, with Charles III as the Monarch, Mary Simon as the Governor General, and Justin Trudeau as the Prime Minister. Its vast expanse extends from the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean and northward into the Arctic Ocean, making it the second-largest country globally.

3. China

China, with a land area of 9,706,961 square kilometers, boasts Beijing as its capital and Shanghai as its largest city. The official language is Chinese, and it operates under a Unitary, Marxist-Leninist one-party socialist republic government, with Xi Jinping serving as the President. China, a significant part of the Asiatic landmass, stands as the world’s third-largest country.

4. USA

USA, covering 9,372,610 square kilometers, has Washington D.C. as its capital and New York City as the largest city. The national language is English, and it operates under a Federal presidential constitutional republic government, with Joe Biden as the President and Kamala Harris as the Vice President. Comprising 50 states, a federal district, five major unincorporated territories, nine minor outlay islands, and 326 Indian reservations, the United States of America is a prominent North American country.

5. Brazil

Brazil, sprawling over 8,515,767 square kilometers, has Brasilia as its capital and Sao Paulo as its largest city. Portuguese is the official language, and the country follows a Federal presidential constitutional republic system, with Lula da Silva as the President and Geraldo Alckmin as the Vice President. As the fifth-largest country globally and the largest in South America, Brazil comprises 26 states and the Federal district.

6. Australia

Australia covers 7,692,024 square kilometers, with Canberra as its capital and Sydney as the largest city. The national language is English, and it operates under a Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy, with Charles III as the Monarch, David Hurley as the Governor-General, and Anthony Albanese as the Prime Minister. Australia, a sovereign country, includes the mainland of the Australian continent, Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands.

7. India

India spans 3,287,590 square kilometers, with New Delhi as its capital and Mumbai as its largest city. Hindi and English serve as the official languages, and the country functions as a Federal parliamentary constitutional republic, with Droupadi Murmu as the President, Jagdeep Dhankhar as the Vice President, and Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister. India ranks as the seventh largest country globally and the most populous nation in the world.

8. Argentina

Argentina covers 2,780,400 square kilometers and has Buenos Aires as both its capital and largest city. The government operates as a Federal presidential constitutional republic, with Alberto Fermandez as the President and Cristina Fermandez de Kirchner as the Vice President. As a country in the southern half of South America, Argentina is the second-largest in South America after Brazil, the fourth-largest in the Americas, and the eighth-largest in the world.

9. Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan, occupying 2,724,900 square kilometers, has Astana as its capital and Almaty as its largest city. The official languages are Kazakh and Russian, and the government follows a Unitary dominant-party presidential republic, with Kassym-Jomart as the President and Alihan Smaiylov as the Prime Minister. Kazakhstan is a transcontinental landlocked country, mainly located in Central Asia and partly in Eastern Europe. It ranks as the ninth largest country globally and holds the title of the world’s largest landlocked country, with a population of approximately 19 million people.

10. Algeria

Algeria covers 2,381,741 square kilometers, with Algiers as both its capital and largest city. The official languages are Arabic and Tamazight, and the government operates as a Unitary semi-presidential republic, with Abdelmadjid Tebboune as the President and Aymen Benabderrahmane as the Prime Minister. As a country in North Africa, Algeria ranks as the tenth largest globally and holds the distinction of being the largest nation in Africa.

3 thoughts on “The world’s biggest country

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *